2017-03-16 / Sports

Brownsboro Bears and Bearettes

Coach Chris Frederick

Bearette Basketball: The Bearettes won their bi-district game, but lost the area game to finish their season with an impressive 24-10 record. They averaged 54 points a game while giving up only 39 points. The assists leaders for the year were Tamaria Manning with 184, followed by Ty Warren with 50. Three Bearettes led the team in steals. Tamaria Manning had 148, followed by Aleiah Williams and Tiara Manning with 104 and 76 respectively. The two leading rebounders were Lindsay Edwards and Ty Warren, with game averages of eleven and six respectively. Averaging 16, 13, and 7 points per game were Tamaria Manning, Lindsay Edwards, and McKenzie Smith. “We sure wanted to go a little longer in the playoffs, but the girls still had a good year. We want to thank everybody that supported us, and although we’re losing some exceptional seniors, we can’t wait for next year,” said Coach Fred Griffin.

Honors: Tamaria Manning was selected by the basketball officials association for the Woodman Scholarship. Garnering all-district honors for the Bearettes were all five starters, plus the sixth man. Tamaria Manning was named Most Valuable Player. The Sixth Man Award went to Aleiah Williams. Lindsay Edwards and Ty Warren were named to the first team, and McKenzie Smith made second team alldistrict team. Tiara Manning rounded out the superlatives being named honorable mention. Seven Bearettes were named to the all-district academic team. Those honored were Kaitlyn England, Morgyn Fulgham, Emma McCoy, McKenzie Smith, Ty Warren, Aleiah Williams, and Brandi Williams.

Bear Basketball: The Bears finished 2-1 in the playoffs and their overall record was 25-8, with a 10-0 record to win the district championship. In fact, the Bears have not lost a district game for three years. The Bears averaged just over 60 points, while giving up less than 50 points per game. Leading the charge for the Bears were the starting five consisting of Kenneth Woods, Jamal Bell, Jake Connor, Kevon Thompson, and Wyatt Rinehart. Woods averaged 16 points and 10 rebounds per game. Following behind Woods was Bell with 13 and 6; Conner with 9 and 5; Thompson with 9 and 4; and Rinehart with 10 and 5. The assists were a little deceiving due to the outstanding passing shown in

the playoffs. While averaging 12 assists during the regular season is good, the assists went up to between 17 to 20 assists per game in the playoffs, which is exceptional. All five of the starters had at least four, in one or more of the three playoff games. Bell and Conner ended up as the season leaders. “I was extremely proud of this team, especially in the playoffs. They really got after it. There were many highlights, but two stand out above the rest. Finishing undefeated again is mighty special, but senior night, and Bryan’s performance will never leave my heart,” emotionally expressed by Coach Brent Smith.

Honors: The Bears dominated the all-district team. Kenneth Woods was named MVP and Jamal Bell the Offensive Player of the Year. Jake Conner and Kevon Thompson were selected first team and Wyatt Rinehart second team alldistrict. Rounding out the all-district honors for the Bears was Ashton Williams who was named honorable mention. Wyatt Rinehart represented the Bears on the academic alldistrict team.

Bearette Track: Coach Fred Griffin stated, “We have some good young talent to blend in with returning lettermen and regional qualifiers.” Major contributors from last year are Lindsay Edwards, Tamaria Manning, Tiara Manning, Cami Wyatt, McKenzie Hughes, Sanjuanita Fernandez, and Kariah Brown. Regional qualifiers coming back are Edwards in the high jump, triple jump, long jump, and 400 relay. Also, Tiara Manning in the

long jump and 400 relay, and Tamaria Manning in the 400 relay. The newcomers expected to perform on a high level are Tay Tay Limbrick, Alexis Rumbo, Laura Escamilia, and Marisol Suarez.

Bear Track: Coach Ryan Hood said, “There are four returning area qualifiers, which, when blended with many newcomers, develop into a real competitive team.” The Bears expected to have an impact this spring are Clayton Orr, Jamal Bell, Myron Sherfield, Mardarian Chivers, Kevion Ross, Kevon Thompson, Kenneth Woods, and Saul Williams. Regional qualifiers from last year, Bell and Sherfield, competed in the 400 and 800 relays. Bell also went in the high jump. Area qualifiers coming back are Orr in the pole vault and Chivers in the shot put. The Bears have already competed at the Wills Point Relays. Bell brought home the gold in the high jump, and Orr set a school record in the pole vault at 13 feet, finishing second. Other medal winners were Woods second and Thompson third in the long jump. The 800 relay team consisting

of Ross, Williams, Bell, and Sherfield finished third. Bell added a second place finish in the triple jump. Both the Bears and Bearettes competed at Rains this past week before Spring Break.

Special Honors: Congratulations to Basketball Coach Fred Griffin on his selection into the Texas High School Basketball Hall of Fame. The banquet and induction will be held at the TABC Clinic in San Antonio, on May 20th, at the El Tropicana Hotel. This is the second Hall of Fame honor for Coach Griffin following winning over 1000 career victories. Last summer Coach Griffin was inducted in the Texas Girls Coaches Association HOF. Congratulations coach and continue on the tradition of excellence.


Return to top